Sonntag, 17. Oktober 2010
Watercooling an XBox 360
This project has actually happened about a year ago, but I never have had the time to blog about it.

xbox unmoddedThe story is: I bought an XBox of the first Revision off my friend. It already had an extra opening and additional fan installed, but ultimately got that inevitable, dreaded ROD [Ring of Death] after a while. When the 'hot air gun'-method did not fix the problem at least for some hours of playing, it was time for something else. I bought another Revision 1 box at eBay that was really cheap and hoped that it could still be fixed. It could. I also ordered a combined CPU & GPU water block, both 12 cm fan and radiator, a small compensation tank and lots of tubing. Together with the water pump I already had that was everything I needed for my little project.

When I got the packages I unsheathed my multitool and started drilling holes in the old case. The XBox from ebay had a custom paint-job that did not suit my taste. After days at the workbench, the flaws of my idea became evident: I decided to put everything I could outside the case, but still the corners of the tubing inside the box were too tight and would stop the water's flow. One the picture below it is obvious that the water coming from the reservoir would not squeeze throught the tight hose. A solution had to be found.

edge piecesLuckily I stumbled upon these edge connectors that saved my ass. After rearranging the tubing everything could go on as planned. I did a black paint-job on the case and a day later the XBox was fired up for the first time. It worked and one could feel the heat that radiated from the, well, radiator with ones bare hands.

xbox final

Despite the fact that the cooling parts outweigh the XBox that I bought by multiples, this project was a lot of fun to do and the outcome was worth the efforts.

... comment